With more than 60,000 homes and 120,000 residents, The Guinness Partnership Ltd is proud to be one of the largest affordable housing and care providers in the country. But our story started a long time ago.
In 1890 Sir Edward Guinness set up The Guinness Trust, donating £200,000 to the Trust in London, with an additional £50,000 for the Dublin Fund, which later became the Iveagh Trust. His vision was to provide decent and safe homes for working class people.
The story of The Guinness Partnership
Take a look at our interactive history microsite to explore the stories and memories from people who have lived and worked at Guinness and the history of our work across England. It features photos, videos and documents throughout our history, from the first estate in Victorian London right up to the latest developments being built today.
Discover the history of our communities, search through our archived photos or explore the map to find your local Guinness estates – www.history.guinnesspartnership.com
About the LMA archives
The archives of The Guinness Trust dating back to 1889 are held at London Metropolitan Archives (LMA) the pan London and City archives managed by the City of London Corporation. They were catalogued by LMA in 2014 as part of a project funded by The Guinness Partnership.
Full descriptions to the records are available on LMA's online catalogue under collection reference LMA/4656. The archives are available to researchers who are registered with a valid history card to order and consult in LMA's Archive study area, with the exception of series relating to tenants and staff, which are subject to closures under data protection legislation and items that are unfit for handling due to their physical condition. Photographs have been digitised by LMA and will be available to consult by the end of February 2015 once item-by-item listing has been completed.
Sources for family history include registers of tenants for the following specific London estates only: Brandon Street, Walworth; Draycott Avenue, Chelsea; Fulham Palace Road, Hammersmith; and Lever Street, Finsbury; and one estate book for Snowsfields, Bermondsey. There is also a volume listing employees and details of service (1891-1968). Note most of these volumes are subject to closures under current data protection legislation. For all enquiries please contact LMA enquiries 0207 332 3820 email email@example.com. For LMA's paid research service and further visitor information please visit www.cityoflondon.gov.uk/lma.